Skip links

Vidalia DUI Defense Lawyer

For Consultation

(912) 537-9265

Contact Us

Experienced DUI Lawyer In Vidalia, Georgia

A DUI conviction can be a lasting blow to your life, with hefty fines, increased insurance premiums, and even the potential of incarceration. Don’t take any chances when it comes to mitigating these consequences; seek out an experienced Vidalia DUI lawyer who will battle your charges head-on! At Downie Law, LLC, our team understands what’s on the line in situations like this, which is why we center our practice around fighting cases at trial. You don’t want a lawyer who’ll just try to make you plead guilty; you deserve someone experienced who knows how to contest charges and work towards getting them dropped or reduced. Contact our office today for a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help.

Types Of DUI Cases That We Handle

From child endangerment to drug-related DUIs, our skilled Vidalia DUI lawyer is here to assist with all types of DUI charges in Georgia. We’re also available for out-of-state clients who were arrested while visiting Georgia and beyond. Our full list of DUI defense services includes:

The severity of these accusations cannot be understated, and we understand the toll it can take on your life. That is why our team puts forth every effort to safeguard your rights. If you are unsure whether or not you need legal representation, let us provide a free consultation so that we can assess your situation more accurately.

Our team will provide you with comprehensive assistance throughout the whole DUI process, ranging from your arrest to any post-trial relief required. You can rest assured that we are on your side and here to help! If charged with a DUI, hiring a DUI defense lawyer in Vidalia, GA as soon as possible would be of utmost benefit for achieving optimum results.

Penalties For DUI Charges In Georgia

Penalties For First DUI Offense In Georgia

  • $300 fine
  • Minimum 10 days (all but 24 hours can be avoided)
  • 12 months of reporting probation
  • 40 hours of community service
  • License suspension of up to one year
  • 20-hour DUI school
  • $210 set license reinstatement fee

The least amount of fines you may have to pay could be up to $1,000 and jail time up to 12 months. Remember though that the maximum penalties can elevate this number, as court costs are liable for doubling your fine.

Penalties For Second DUI Offense In Georgia

  • Mandatory minimum of 72 hours of jail time
  • $600 fine
  • 12 months of reporting probation
  • 30 days of community service
  • 18 months driver’s license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock installation in any car you drive
  • $210 set license reinstatement fee
  • 20-hour DUI school
  • Picture in the newspaper
  • License plate confiscation
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation and, if indicated, completion of a substance abuse treatment program at your expense

The least amount of fines and jail time you could receive are described above, but depending on your case the maximum penalties can reach up to a 1,000 fine and 12 months in prison. On top of that, court costs will add additional fees to this burden.

Penalties For Third DUI Offense In Georgia

  • Mandatory minimum of 15 days of jail time
  • $1,000 fine
  • 30 days of community service
  • 12 months of reporting probation
  • Permanent driver’s license revocation for up to 5 years. Early reinstatement after two years with an ignition interlock device on your car
  • $410 set license reinstatement fee
  • Your name, photo, and address published in the local newspaper at your expense
  • If declared as a habitual violator, the license plate for your vehicle will be seized by the court and forwarded to the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation and, if indicated, completion of a substance abuse treatment program at your expense

The least amount of penalties you could incur are up to $5,000 in fines and 12 months in jail time. Not to mention the additional fees for court costs. The maximum charges may far exceed this number, so be aware of your actions.

DUI Less Safe Charges In Georgia

Many folks mistakenly assume that they won’t be charged with a DUI unless their blood alcohol content exceeds .08, yet in Georgia, the possibility of criminal liability exists even if your BAC is lower. The state’s “DUI Less Safe” laws mean that driving while under the influence of any amount of alcohol or drugs – prescription or otherwise – can lead to serious legal consequences.

If convicted, a DUI Less Safe charge can have the same serious repercussions as a traditional DUI offense. These may include jail time, fines, license suspension, and/or community service or alcohol education classes. The only discrepancy between these two offenses is in how the state goes about proving its case.

Time is of the essence if you have been charged with a DUI Less Safe. You only have ten days to file for an administrative license hearing, or else your license will be suspended for one full year! To make matters worse, the state doesn’t even need to perform any breath tests or blood samples in order to prove you were driving while impaired – they can just point out observations such as red eyes, slurred speech, confusion, and alcohol on your breath. Don’t wait: request that hearing now.

Felony DUI Charges In Georgia

DUIs in the state of Georgia are often categorized as felony-level offenses. If you have been previously convicted for DUI, or if your actions led to grievous physical injuries and/or death – also known as Vehicular Homicide – or caused extensive property damage, chances are that you will be charged with a Felony DUI. The repercussions attached to this charge could be hefty and far-reaching; some potential consequences include:

  • Mandatory 90 days in prison
  • A one-to-five-year prison sentence
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Completion of an alcohol or drug education program
  • Clinical evaluation
  • 60 days of community service
  • Up to five years of probation

Even after having served your sentence and paid all applicable fines, a DUI conviction with felony charges will remain on your record for many years to come. You may find it difficult to secure employment or housing as an ex-felon, in addition to being denied the right of voting or own firearms. Furthermore, students may face disciplinary action from their college campus while military personnel could be hindered by their lack of security clearances.

It goes without saying that DUI penalties are serious matters. In Georgia, you may have a brief opportunity to avoid your driver’s license suspension; however, the chances of success are slim as the Department of Driver Services (DDS) usually initiates this process immediately following your DUI arrest in Vidalia, GA.

Sobriety Checkpoints In Georgia

As determined by both state and federal regulations, Georgia is among the 38 states in America where sobriety checkpoints are lawful (see 318 S.E.2d 693 (Ga. App. Ct. 1984)). Sobriety checkpoint locations are transient; however, there exist sites that trace their whereabouts over time – past and future ones alike! Even though many have asserted that a traffic stop demands probable cause under the Fourth Amendment, sobriety checkpoints serve as an exception to this ruling since the Supreme Court proclaimed in 1990 that drunk driving hazards outweigh any hindrance caused due to these check stops.

Nevertheless, any questionable activity, harm to the vehicle, or traffic law infractions could draw even more attention toward you. If you are detained after being stopped at a sobriety checkpoint, request an opportunity to speak with a Vidalia DUI defense lawyer and find out how they can assist in remedying your predicament.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will I Go To Jail For A DUI In Georgia?

When you’re detained for a DUI in Georgia, it’s likely that you’ll be kept overnight in county jail. You might then be liberated either through the “on your own recognizance” approach – where you agree to appear at all court appearances; or by paying bail, thereby assuring attendance at any and all proceedings stated on the court schedule. As the court weighs your criminal background and the alleged offense, it will decide whether to release you on “own recognizance”. However, should you fail to show up in court after being released under this arrangement, a warrant for your arrest would be issued.

If you are convicted of any DUI, from the first offense to the third and beyond, a mandatory jail sentence will be issued. Your attorney should fight for this punishment to be reduced or for an even lighter charge that does not involve incarceration at all. Generally, these sentences are served in county jails – however if there was severe injury or death caused by your DUI; if it is your fourth DUI offense onwards; or if police charged you with fleeing an officer – then a state prison can issue a sentence lasting more than one year instead.

What Are The Defenses To DUI Charges In Georgia?

To prepare for trial, we believe in working diligently from the start and never compromising our bargaining position during plea negotiations. Our Vidalia DUI lawyer is prepared to go above and beyond to find ways to suppress evidence when applicable. No matter your individual case, we are here to advocate on your behalf with creative legal strategies surrounding:

  • Basic DUI defense for people without prior convictions
  • Using weaknesses in blood and Breathalyzer test procedures and in the administration of field sobriety tests to beat DUI charges
  • Refusal cases
  • Felony DUI defense, especially in cases involving serious collisions or fatal accidents that are charged as vehicular homicide
  • Repeat DUI cases, including those based on out-of-state DWI convictions
  • Underage DUI cases for minors, including high school students and in- or out-of-state college students
  • Driver’s license suspension hearings before the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)
  • Probation and DUI Drug Court violations that include failing to complete required community service, attend AA sessions, report to a probation officer, and other violations

Don’t take chances with your future by working with an attorney who is unfamiliar with defending DUI charges. A drunk driving conviction can significantly raise your insurance rates and put you at risk of losing your driving privileges for years to come. With our comprehensive legal expertise and trial experience, we are here to help you fight these serious offenses.

Will I Lose My Driver’s License For A DUI Conviction?

In the state of Georgia, a DUI conviction can lead to serious consequences—even on your first offense. A single charge could mean up to 12 months without driving privileges and repeat offenders face even greater suspensions with three years for a second offense and five years for a third DUI offense. This loss means no access to getting to work, running errands, or transporting children safely if you are unable to drive your vehicle yourself! If ever in this situation it is paramount that all legal resources be enacted quickly so as not to risk losing these important freedoms.

Contact Our Vidalia DUI Lawyer Today

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence in Vidalia, GA, don’t hesitate to contact our Vidalia DUI attorney. A DUI conviction can not only affect your driving privileges but also leave a lasting mark on your criminal record. The possible consequences of such charges include jail time, hefty fines, and court-mandated community service. Fortunately, many lines of defense are at your disposal – so take action now and get back behind the wheel sooner than later,

At Downie Law, LLC, we are a firm that can challenge the facts brought against you in court, such as inaccurate blood alcohol readings, faulty breath tests, and illegal police stops, all with an impressive success rate to reduce or dismiss your charges altogether. We have extensive experience using these defense strategies to provide our clients with favorable outcomes. Contact our office today for a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help you fight DUI charges.